Slow and Steady baby quilt

This girly quilt is for a baby who was born in September.  She is the first grandchild of very good friends.  I had a quilt planned for a boy but then, Dana actually gave birth to a girl.   When I learned that the  baby’s room is in pink and grey colors, it was perfect.  My Tula Pink fabrics had just arrived.  I adore her artwork and never tire of finding the hidden animals in her work.  This line of fabric is called “Slow and Steady”, which is spot on since I started this just after the baby was named.  Luckily for us, we are invited for Shabbat dinner tonight and the baby and her parents will be at Grandma’s house.  I needed a push to get this quilt done and it worked!  Here is Avigail’s quilt, one that was promised a long, long time ago.  I was hoping she wouldn’t start walking before this got to her, and luckily I’m just in time.  My photos don’t do these gorgeous colors justice, but you get the idea.  Tula PInk fabric is just too beautiful to duplicate on camera.  IMG_8104

The butterflies were paper pieced and they were so fun, I could have made many more.  The pattern can be found on Craftsy and is by Tartankiwi, who is so talented.  I will definitely be making these again for a future project.

https://www.craftsy.com/quilting/patterns/butterfly-12-paper-pieced-pattern/141138

IMG_8109

Here’s a close up of the largest paper pieced butterfly.  I adore how these came out.

IMG_8111 (1)

This may be a first because I quilted this entire quilt in one quick sitting.  I started without a plan but it just flowed.  what a breeze it is when all the stars line up and the work goes well!

IMG_8114

The back of the quilt is a pattern with adorable little inchworms against this sweet pink color. I completed the busy quilt with a patchy label and a simple grey binding.

Leave a Reply

