Patriotic Star Blocks

IMG_8850 (2)This is a quick post to talk about one of my favorite charities, Covered in Love.   The finished quilts go to hospice patients and their families.  Kat pulls the variety of blocks into fabulous lap-size quilts.  Every two months, she asks quilters for a particular block design.  She gives us colors and offers creative tutorials, sometimes things we’ve never even considered before!  This month is a repeat of last year’s request for patriotic star blocks.  These need to finish at 12.5″ and as you see, I was a bit short on the one above.  Still, it was too fun to not add.

I enjoy searching for star blocks because the variety is not to be believed!  This time, I’m redoing a few favorites.  The block above is from one of my most favorite sites for paper piecing blocks.  Wombat quilts (and I love the name) has a bunch of free tutorials for fabulous blocks.  Some are complicated, but others are even manageable for my beginner students.  The tutorial for the Rolling Star block above can be found below. Check out their other fabulous blocks.

https://wombatquilts.files.wordpress.com/2013/10/block3countryregister.pdf

I’ve made a bunch of other stars and have several weeks to go before the deadline.   I’m sure I’ll be more star crazy before the time is up.  Below are 2 more blocks with tutorials from craftsy.com, another great source of free designs.   While I have many other stars already finished….sadly, I’m out of time for now.

To learn more about Covered In Love, here’s a link to Kat’s site.

http://katandcatquilts.blogspot.com/2017/06/oh-my-stars-cil-block-drive.html

Leave a Reply

