Flannel Pajamas & Oatmeal Cookies

Today is my day for the annual Virtual Cookie Exchange Blog Hop!  (Thank you Carol of Just Let Me Quilt for graciously organizing this again!  We love you!) virtual cookie a

Last year I learned of it too late to join in on an official basis, but I did my own blog post anyways.   Here’s to sitting in flannel pajamas sipping a cup of hot tea and munching a warm cookie in a house that’s safe and warm.  Cocoa or coffee works too!  

I actually was sipping a cup of tea while making these flannel nightgowns below.  It was definitely time to whip out the flannel for little dolls to have warm garments!  These are going to A Doll Like Me .  There’s no end to the need for specialized dolls.  I made these nightgowns to reflect those that I remember from my childhood.  Mine were usually pink or red with a ribbon or two on the front.  Mind you, I grew up in California where winter wasn’t even that cold!  Still, we had to have flannel.  I would keep watching that front ribbon as it slowly softened and eventually unraveled.  I like how these nightgowns evoke love and coziness (one ribbon literally says love.)  The sewing pattern is adapted from a smocked doll top found here.  I increased the length by 3 inches, ruffled the sleeves and added the ribbon and lace touches.

IMG_2759

These doll nightgowns are flannel and have a lined bodice.  The lace, found at Joanns in the bargain ribbon bin, is an extra touch .  The ribbons are my favorite part though.  A little girl nightgown just has to have ribbons.  

Below is another flannel outfit for a little girl doll.  I had forgotten to add 3 more inches to the original pattern and therefore, the deer dress is really more of a top.  I added flannel pajama bottoms (using the same pattern below for the boy pajamas) and a nice little pj outfit was born.   I used up the last of this sweet deer flannel fabric, for now. 

IMG_2767

Deer pajamas for a little girl doll.  Not everyone wears a nightgown so how about a pants outfit instead?  

IMG_2765.jpg

These lion pajamas are for a boy doll and perhaps the last shorties for awhile.  The same pattern  has options for long pants and long sleeves.   Looking at the lion fabric, made of regular cotton, makes me shiver.  I wish I had made it longer and out of flannel.   Which brings me to the food portion of my post.  

IMG_2770

A trip to Whole Foods when you need eggs results in buying these brown ones.   

I love many types of cookies but my favorites are probably oatmeal raisin.  My kids won’t tolerate raisins in anything, so I usually drop in chocolate chips instead.  One of my son’s has recently decided to go gluten-free.  I’m trying to be supportive of his dietary needs, even if it’s sometimes challenging.  For Thanksgiving, I baked him a gluten-free pumpkin chocolate chip loaf.  He was appreciative and said it was pretty good. Score one for mom!

Today’s blog hop was the perfect time for me to try making some gluten free cookies.  While most oatmeal is naturally gluten-free, some brands can have cross contamination from barley and other grains.  To be safe, I bit the bullet and ventured to Whole Foods where I purchased oatmeal that is marked “gluten free.”  I found an interesting recipe that has no flour at all.  Instead, the recipe has you grinding plain oatmeal in a food processor.  I used a blender since it’s much easier to clean and it did a fine job too.   The cookies came out large and chewy. 

The recipe for the Gluten-free Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies seen below can be found here.  

IMG_2777

Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies.  These are extra chewy, which my family loved.  I used mini chocolate chips but anything goes!  I even love raisins in them, but heaven forbid if I try that with my family!

If you prefer a regular Oatmeal Chocolate Chip cookie to the gluten free recipe above, here is my standard recipe below.  It’s originally from the top of a Quaker Oat’s oatmeal box. 

REGULAR Vanishing Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies makes 4 dozen.

  • 1/2 Cup(s) (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup(s) firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup(s) granulated sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) vanilla
  • 1-1/2 Cup(s) all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) Baking Soda
  • 1 Teaspoon(s) ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 Teaspoon(s) salt (optional)
  • 3 Cup(s) Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
  • 1 Cup(s) raisins or chocolate chips
  • Blend butter & sugars.  Add egg and vanilla and blend again.  Finally, add the remaining ingredients.  Bake 350 degrees for 10-15 minutes.  

That’s it for now.  I’m off to bake the last batch of cookies.  I burned one tray but you know how that is, they’re still tasty.  Check out the talented bloggers posting great recipes and more this week.

November 27

Kwilty Pleasures

Tu-Na Quilts, Travels, and Eats

Songbird Designs

Creative Latitude

Ms P Designs USA

Gray Barn Designs

Alycia Quilts

Happy Cottage Quilter

Sew Many Yarns

For The Love Of Geese

November 28

Creatin’ in the Sticks

Vroomans Quilts

It’s A T-Sweet Day!

Domestic Felicity

That Fabric Feeling – YOU ARE HERE

Home Sewn By Us

Karrin’s Crazy World

Adventurous Applique and Quilting

Bumbleberry Style

Melva Loves Scraps

Beaquilter

November 29

MooseStashQuilting

Pieceful Thoughts of My Quilting Life

Kathleen McMusing

DesertSky Quilting

Life in the Scrapatch

Ridge Top Quilt

Cynthia’s Creating Ark

Bejeweled Quilts by Barb

Pumpkin Patch Patterns & Quilting

Operation Domestic Goddess

Just Let Me Quilt

linking up to:

Let’s Bee Social

Midweek Makers

Needle and Thread Thursday

Canigetawhoopwhoop

TGIFF

Finishedornotfriday

Showoffsaturday

 

 

49 responses to “Flannel Pajamas & Oatmeal Cookies

  1. Love all of your PJ’s for a Doll like me. Such a wonderful gift of love. The gluten free cookies sound really interesting. Printing out the recipe for future baking.

    Like

  2. Your flannel outfits are just adorable. Those dolly clothes are nearly as time-consuming as people clothing. The oatmeal cookie recipe sounds wonderful. As I’ve aged, I find I like raisins so it’ll be tough to decide on raisins or chocolate chips. 🙂

    Like

    • Thank you so much. Maybe the clothes are time consuming, but they’re certainly more satisfying when they come out so tiny. Honestly, if I had my way, I’ld put raisins and choc chips in the cookies!! I like them fully loaded!

      Like

  3. While I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal cookies, my hubby loves them! And he’s a picky eater – and definitely would not like the raisins, but would love the chocolate chips in them! Those flannel pjs and that little deer outfit are so cute. Someone will be very happy to receive them!

    Like

    • Brenda, Thanks so much. Chocolate chips are in pretty much everything that I bake. I hope the flannel holds up in the wash since I also really love that deer outfit too!

      Like

  4. My grandma use to make us all pajamas for Christmas, so this brings back loads of great memories. Great job on the GF recipe. Have a very Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • So many talented grandmas. Mine would crochet us long vests. Remember that look from the 70’s? Of course, she would only buy yarn on sale so sometimes the colors were quite interesting!! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

    • Colette, With enough time, I’m always in for a baking. I have a gluten free pumpkin choc. chip loaf in the freezer that he’s got his name on already!! Thanks for stopping by and for the lovely compliment.

      Like

  5. I donated a couple of small doll quilts to A Doll Like Me this spring! I should do it again once the Christmas rush is over. Your outfits are darling – can you make the deer one in my size??

    Liked by 1 person

    • MIndy, I love that deer fabric. It’s from Joann’s, which I usually avoid, but it spoke to me. I prefer to order fabric online but sometimes you just have to give in. I hope it washes well. Next time I’ll try to prewash it, but it is an extra roomy size for Amy’s dolls. She would love quilts I”m sure.

      Like

  6. A favorite cookie of mine, too. Thanks! The pj and nightgown sewing looks wonderful I love the one with the little deer fabric the best. What a sweet thing for you to do.

    Like

    • Hi, thanks so much for stopping in. I also am nuts about that little deer fabric. I need to stay away from Joanns or I may just purchase another batch of it. I try to order online so that I show more restraint, but as my family will tell you, that’s not working so well either!!

      Like

    • Alycia, I feel for you. I’m sure you get used to it but carbs are what I crave. I would be best off not being able to have them.

      Like

    • My pleasure. I’m a little obsessed with making doll clothes for A Doll Like Me. They are satisfying cause you can finish them quickly, and it goes to a great cause.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Such adorable nightgowns and PJs!! Totally reminds me of my childhood!! Cooking gluten free is so hard…almond flour just doesn’t react like wheat flour. Good for you for going the hard way to please your son (what moms do for their kids!!).

    Like

    • Yeah, this is what mom’s do. We go with the flow because we love our kiddies. I haven’t tried almond flour but the key seems to be xanthan gum, which sounds horrible, but helps keep gluten free stuff from being grainy. Live and learn, right!

      Like

  8. My mother sewed us flannel nightgowns every year for Christmas and eventually made them for her grandchildren, too. They were amazing! Your doll pajamas are just the cutest ever and the boy one is adorable…love them all! Gluten free cookies will be a winner for those who suffer the bad effects of flour in their diets. Thank you for sharing it and hopping along with us! xo

    Like

    • Carol, I love that your mom sewed nightgowns each year. What is it about mom’s? When my kids were little, I would give them a new pair of Sara’s cotton pj’s each year for chanukah. Ok, I didn’t make them cause I was too busy being raising the 5 little monkeys!! Thank you again for this wonderful blog hop theme. I think it was a year ago when I first found you. What a great year it’s been and i’m thrilled to participate for real this time!!

      Like

  9. Your little doll clothes remind me of my childhood and I love those little additions so much. The ribbons and lace just send those nightgowns over the top.
    I’ve been challenged with sugar-free recipes for my hubby and I know it’s not easy. Bless your heart for going the extra mile and sharing the recipe. Merry Christmas!

    Like

    • Carla, I feel your pain on the no sugar. My brother in law can’t eat sugar and I once made one very successful pumpkin cake for him, but it used apple juice concentrate. I think a true non-sugar eater wouldn’t be able to use that, but it was ok for him. I also love ribbons and lace on little nightgowns. I’m not that girly most of the time, but this is when I love to kick it up a notch or two!!

      Like

  10. Cute doll jammies. I never word nightgowns. The little deer set immediately reminded me of pajamas my mom made for me as a child. And I’ll be trying the GF recipe out. Thanks for sharing! Merry Quiltmas 🙂

    Like

    • Jammies…we called them nightgowns but we were from Canada so things were often called by different names. I love that deer set also and would love to make one for myself, if only I wore flannel these days! Hot flashes make wearing flannel a rare occasion at night.

      Like

  11. Flannel nightgowns — brings back memories for me. My grandmother, each Christmas, made each of her granddaughters a flannel nightgown with a matching nightgown for our dolls. We always looked forward to our new “nighties” each year.

    Like

    • Wendy, I know I replied just now but I am awestruck by this memory from your childhood. What a sweet gift and how wonderful that you got to look forward to a new set each year for you and your doll!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • It was a sweet tradition. After my grandmother died, my mom took up the tradition, so my daughter got in on it. It’s a special memory for her too. Someday, if I have grandchildren, I hope to do the same. I have the pattern still, I think.

        Liked by 1 person

  12. Those gluten free cookies look great! You are a super-mom for trying them. The oatmeal chocolate chip cookie I make originally came from that oatmeal container too. I like to add coconut and pecans as well. 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

    Like

    • Carol, Those additions sound amazing. I like my oatmeal cookies fully loaded! Thanks so much for stopping by. Seeing your comment made me smile first thing early this morning!

      Like

  13. Good Morning! Oh boy, oatmeal raisin cookies are one of my very favorites! I love that you found a gluten-free recipe!! I have family and friends that are intolerant to gluten, so I will definitely give them a try. I guess I’d better make sure the oatmeal is the correct kind! Thank you so much for sharing this with us today! ~smile~ Roseanne

    Like

    • Roseanne, Good morning to you! I think we all have more and more friends going gluten free. I will keep trying more gluten free recipes. It seems there are some tricks to use that I’m learning about. Hey, at least we can eat some romaine lettuce again, right? Even salads were becoming challenging. It’s great to hear from you.

      Like

    • Jennifer, I definitely love your Show me the yummy! Thanks so much for the sharing…is it ok that i didn’t ask you first? I love how they came out but i need to watch them more closely since one batch burned. Turns out, they’re still good overdone!

      Like

    • Dorian, Thanks so much. I will keep working on these cookies and maybe try making them smaller. They really do flatten quite a bit.

      Like

    • Sandra, they flatten quite a bit so beware. I will try smaller ones next time but they are delicious. Thanks for the sweet comments.

      Like

    • Tracy, Thanks so much. I am really into flannel right now, as you can tell. I can tell you that I did have a cookie or two or three…you just have to taste what you make, right!?

      Like

Leave a comment