Denim Picnic Blanket

Thank you to Carol of Justletmequilt.com for organizing this Picnic Party blog hop. I have been wanting to make a denim picnic blanket forever. This was the right time, and I had even been saving denim squares for a year. I needed more but what fun this was going to be!

My first dilemma was to decide on the size of my picnic blanket? Turns out there is sort of a standard size depending on the amount of people you hope to seat. This helpful article from Kamui blankets helps you learn what size a picnic blanket should be. I wanted one for my son to keep in his car but not teeny tiny. These denim quilts sew up quite heavy so weight has to be factored in when picking a size. My goal is a blanket 8 x 8 using 8″ squares. It will roll up and be tied with some sort of attached denim scrap. I should get a blanket that’s about 60″ x 60.” While that seemed small to me at first, it will be a manageable size, without being too heavy. I am happy with how it is going thus far.

I sewed two rows first and played with how they would look when put together. It was a good start and off I went.

I kept going with more rows and tried to vary the dark and light denim patches without too much debate. A pocket here and there is nice, but one on each corner is a given.

I am almost done with the top, but the backing is a mystery. I don’t think I want batting or a regular backing fabric in this blanket. I want to make the back something waterproof. Does anyone have any experience using a flannel-backed plastic tablecloth, shower curtain liner or other such waterproof fabric for the back of a picnic blanket? I would love some ideas or suggestions on how to keep the quilt somewhat waterproof for those annoying park areas that wet our bottoms!

I have 5 rows of 8 squares so far. There’s a pocket on the corners to put a rock in and help weigh down the quilt on a windy day. I read that tip in an article about making a picnic blanket with rock pockets and really liked the idea.

I worried that an all-denim quilt could be too dull, but Pinterest always comes through. I found a cool denim string quilt idea from scrapfabriclove.com which is lovely. While I like her idea, I’m going for something a bit more muted and quiet. I’m not sure my string additions are enough yet, but hers’ felt like too much. We shall see how it all plays together as I sew along. I didn’t plan each square but am sewing and building as I go. Lazy perhaps, but I’m hoping to not make this too tedious a project. I want it done before the end of the summer.

I got a bit delayed because I needed more denim than I thought. Some of the denim hand-me-downs just weren’t big enough. I would sometimes only get 2 squares out of the little kids jeans I had on hand. See my note below* and you’ll read that as of Friday, I now have plenty of denim. The quilt top will be done soon, but what to do for the bottom? I’ll share some tips and perhaps you can pass along some backing wisdom.

Tips for Working with Denim:

1. WHERE TO FIND WORN DENIM:

a) Ask everyone you know for old denim jeans. I was able to get a few pairs this way.

b) You can buy some on ThredUp, a used clothing site, which may work. It wasn’t all that helpful for me because the adult jeans are priced way higher than necessary. I ended up buying kids jeans and unfortunately, you can’t get too many 8″ blocks from those tiny pants.

c) *A better idea is if you’re near a Goodwill Outlet. (I stumbled on one this past Friday.) Their big Warehouse, with bins of miscellaneous clothing, includes thrifted denim. You fill a cart, or grab some items and get charged per pound of fabric. I had the smallest pile of most folks there. I grabbed denim without even looking at it and paid $18 total for 6 pairs of denim jeans. The tags with sizes were missing but just one huge pair of mens jeans got me ten 8″ squares of thrifted denim!! Mission accomplished!!

2. STARCH TO STOP THE STRETCH: Today’s denim is usually stretchy. It can be helpful to starch the denim blocks. I didn’t starch all the blocks, but would next time. For some blocks, I cut them larger than necessary, then starched them and finally cut them exactly to my 8″ size block. Some people would do light interfacing on the backs of the blocks, but trust me…denim is HEAVY. Any extra weight is not what you want.

3. HALF INCH SEAM ALLOWANCE: It’s recommended to sew denim with a 1/2″ seam allowance but I went with 1/4 inch. I was trying to keep from using up too much denim for seams. Well, I should have used the 1/2″ seam because denim is a beast at times. Having the larger seams allows you to sew more easily plus pressing is much easier the wider the seam.

4. ROCK POCKETS: Put a denim pocket in each corner of your quilt. With a nearby rock placed in each corner on site, you can keep your blanket from blowing away in the wind.

That’s all for today, I’m happy to be working towards my goal, but why is it that I never seem to complete a project lately? Please check out the other bloggers who, no doubt, will blow your minds with their finishes and their creativity. Thanks for stopping by and please leave a comment if you have time. What would you recommend for a waterproof backing?

You can follow the pinterest page for this hop as well.

July 17

Just Let Me Quilt

Quiltscapes

Days Filled With Joy

Quilt Schmilt

That Fabric Feeling YOU ARE HERE!!

Crazy’boutquilts

July 18

Inflorescence

CQ4Fun

Just Because Quilts

Homespun Hannah’s Blog

Karen’s Korner

Vroomans Quilts

July 19

Selina Quilts

Patchwork Breeze

Songbird Designs

Words & Stitches

Beaquilter

Quilted Snail

Sew Many Yarns

July 20

MooseStashQuilting

Karrin’s Crazy World

Bumbleberry Stitches

Texas Quilt Gal

Quilting Gail

Ms P Designs USA

Scrapdash

50 responses to “Denim Picnic Blanket

  1. Love your picnic quilt, and string look is awesome. As to backing, either a flannel backed table cloth, or you can buy oil cloth and put some sort of thin batting in between.

    Like

    • Have you ever used a flannel backed tablecloth for a backing? Just wondering how it worked out.

      Like

      • I haven’t, but I think it would depend on the quality of table cloth you bought. I know my mom buys oil cloth and sews it to make it larger for her dinner table, and it holds up really well. I recently bought some oil cloth to cover a table in my laundry room which was extra nasty. It is really heavy duty, and I could see sewing with it.

        Liked by 1 person

    • No wonder oil cloth has been around for years, it appears to be the fabric for when you need durability. Thanks for the reply. I’m going to look at some and see how it feels.

      Like

    • I think everyone needs a denim picnic blanket in their car or house! Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  2. This is such a great idea. I love the pops of color. Thanks for all of those tips. I’m really dazzled with the idea of rock pockets.

    Like

  3. What a pretty denim quilt! I have never tried to sew a quilt with a waterproof backing. The flannel instead of batting is a good idea, as suggested, for the quilt not being so thick. That I have done before.

    Like

  4. What a wonderful look that has. A friend of mine made 4 camping quilts from denim squares for her family. We were collecting jeans from everyone for ages! We pieced some blocks, too. Yours looks great, and very much a picnic size. We didn’t use batting, but she did put in a flannel sheet to give it a little more stability – of course, that was queen size, so you probably don’t even need that! Thanks for sharing what you’ve done. It’s great!
    CQ4Fun for this blog hop.

    Like

    • Susan, A flannel sheet is a nice idea because it would be thin. I’m still hoping for something waterproof and need to finish the top and make a decision. I’m leaning towards no batting an am still keeping the research going. Thanks so much for your comment and I hope your friends camping quilts have held up.

      Like

    • Oh you’re so sweet, I really have plenty now. I may even have enough for a second picnic blanket. However, THANK YOU for the kind offer.

      Like

    • Charlene, Thank you so much. Do you think it could use a few more pops of color? I was keeping it a bit lower but wondering if it needs just a tad more.

      Like

  5. Recycling denim for an outdoor quilt is brilliant. Utilizing the pockets for napkins, etc. Utilizing embroidery or/and all your fancy stitches on the machine we hardly ever use. This is something I’d like to make. Thanks for the resource on sizes and more.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re so welcome. I found that article on sizes to be so helpful. If my picnic blanket weren’t denim, I could see making it even larger. However, I don’t want the blanket to be a burden to carry. I didn’t even think about the quilting lines yet. Using some fun stitches would be a really cool idea. Hmmm…thank you for the suggestion. I really love this community !! I didn’t think about it before but I can do some lettering and add some picnic phrases perhaps like.. “A picnic is a celebration of life.” The ideas are just endless!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I used an oilcloth on the back of a picnic quilt, and then tied it instead of quilting. It works perfect on damp grass (not soggy) but by tying it, it limits the amount of holes in the oilcloth. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Terri, thank you so much for the oilcloth suggestion. I never thought to tie the quilt. Did you put batting inside your quilt or was it without? Just wondering.

      Like

    • Thank you Terri. Yes, my instinct is no batting for denim. I’m gathering info and boy do you all have such helpful comments. (-: I love this community!

      Like

  7. That is a really perfect picnic quilt. I love that you used denim and the pockets on the corners for weighty rocks is a wonderful idea. Making it waterproof is a super idea – I’ll be looking and listening to hear the responses you get.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. I am happy with denim and just still gathering ideas for the backing. I really want it somewhat waterproof so that’s the goal. Whether or not I can pull this off remains to be seen. I promise to post updates as I figure this out.

      Like

  8. Picnic quilts are such a fun idea. Seems like my married kids received them as wedding gifts (not hand made but purchased) I like how they roll up tightly and can be stored in the trunk of the car.
    As for the backing, I like Joan’s idea of laying it on a tablecloth if it is wet out. Washing it with a vinyl backing could be challenging. On the other hand, I wonder if any of my kids have ever even washed theirs???

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bernie, That is a lovely wedding gift. We got a picnic basket years ago filled with lots of stuff. I didn’t get a blanket for it so it’s about time! I’m going to have to make another one for myself after this one. I have denim leftover so it’s inevitable that a second blanket will be in the plans. I like Joan’s idea too. I don’t know about vinyl backing being washed but some online sewers said they used just a shower curtain. I have no clue what’s best but I’ll see what others say and then I’ll have to update folks with any results.

      Like

  9. Great idea for a picnic quilt! I love the idea of rock pockets. Thanks so much for sharing and giving me plenty of ideas to kick around in my head.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Karrin, it’s my pleasure to share the ideas of others! I’m loving making this and learning so much in the process.

      Like

  10. What a fun quilt and having pockets for rocks to hold it down is a great idea! I’m sure your son will treasure this. Years ago, I made a 40″ x 40″ denim blanket…it was heavy for sure. You can get coated vinyl (Riley Blake used to make some) that goes great on the back of fabric. Thanks for sharing your picnic with us!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Coated vinyl is an interesting idea. I’ll look into that. I’m still figuring out the finishing. I definitely learn best from our quilting community. So thanks for this idea. I’m wondering how you felt the 40 x 40 blanket was in terms of size? Was it a lap blanket?

      Like

  11. I love playing with recycle denim and have made bed quilts from them, but never thought about a picnic quilt. Great idea and they will last forever. With the weight of them, and they are heavy, I might just put a cotton backing on it with flannel batting, maybe and put it on a big plastic table cloth when its on the ground. I’m not sure just how anything with plastic would hold up with washings. Rip stop might be an option, but I’m not sure if it stays waterproof sitting on it for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Joan, Thank you for the suggestion of rip stop. I also want a back that is sturdy, unlike quilting fabric would be. I’m also not sure about washing plastic but this is why I put the question out to the community. You guys have taught me so much already.

      Like

  12. What a wonderful quilt! This may turn into a squirrel for me, so thank you so much for all the tips. I really like the strings effect, and the pockets on the corners for rocks is a great tip. I have often bought clothing or used sheets at Goodwill to use as scraps – it’s a great resource.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Goodwill is wonderful for things like this. I hated buying old denim online and paying for shipping. This was so much better and the size of pants was not to be believed! I also love the strings but may need to add a few more. I think it’s maybe a bit too muted but that’s ok. I’m certainly going to make another one with leftover denim I’ve amassed.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Elizabeth, thank you so much. I can almost never take credit for ideas…it’s always something I’ve learned from someone else. Denim quilts are very heavy so I think it’s the perfect, ruddy and tough blanket for picnics. Let’s see what I do for the backing but it’s likely to be a blanket that is very practical.

      Like

    • Sandie, So I’m just afraid that batting will make this quilt ridiculously heavy…more than it is already. Rip stop is interesting and I’ll look into that. Thank you for keeping the ideas flowing…I’m listening.

      Like

Leave a comment